Home Special Report Day CDHR Re-Elected Osagie Obayuwana As President

Day CDHR Re-Elected Osagie Obayuwana As President


The Committee for the Defence of Human Rights (CDHR), has re-elected Dr. Osagie Obayuwana as its National President for another term in office during the 33rd annual general conference held in Lagos.

This was contained in a statement made available to PMParrot by the National Public Relations Officer of the organization, Comrade Idris Afees Olayinka recently.

Speaking at the conference, the guest speaker, Professor Tunde Babawale in his message titled ‘A call to service in a  troubled Nigeria’ stated that the respect for fundamental human rights has been grossly abused by the President Muhammadu Buhari led-administration.

He said, “The right to life of many Nigerian citizens have become most threatened and abused, with the rising incidences of insurgency, banditry, militancy, extortion, abductions, kidnappings, extrajudicial murders by the state actors which in turn has led to high level of insecurity in the country”.

He further lamented on the various challenges and constraints encountered by Nigerians due to the unfriendly capitalist policies of privatization of public enterprises, commercialization of public roads via the re-introduction of the toll gates system, rising level of hardship, dwindling value of the Nigeria currency among others.

He, however, justified the need to amend the constitution of the association and to review the operational and disciplinary measures of the organization in order to minimize the illegal use of the name and materials of the CDHR.

Among its recommendation at the conference, it announced the inauguration of three new state branches in Nasarawa, Katsina and Bauchi and the renewal of the tenure of the BOT members among whom are Femi Falana (SAN), Professor Lucky Akaruese, Dr. Osagie Obayuwana, Barrister Gbenga Awosode, Comrade Debo Adeniran and Barrister Malachy Ugwummadu among others.

Other re-elected members of the National executive included Comrade Ade Ikuesan as Vice President, Yinka Folarin as General Secretary, Idris Afees Olayinka as National Publicity Secretary, Comrade Sola Kolawole as Treasurer, Comrade (Barr) Henry Peter Ekine as Legal Adviser among others.

Packaged By Emmanuel Adeniran

author avatar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here