Home Politics Ondo Guber Primary: Ruling APC Clears 16 Aspirants

Ondo Guber Primary: Ruling APC Clears 16 Aspirants


The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has cleared all 16 aspirants for the Ondo Gubernatorial primary on April 20.

The seven-man Sen. Joshua Lidani-led Screening Committee gave all the aspirants the nod to contest the primary.

The exercise took place on Friday after inauguration of the Screening Committee and the Screening Appeal Committees by the Deputy National Organising Secretary, Nze Chidi Duru on behalf of the National Chairman, Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje at the National Secretariat, Abuja.

Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa led the pack of aspirants that appeared before the committee in the exercise that started around 11 am and rounded up with the appearance of Omo Oba Okunjimi Odimayo around 6:30 pm.

The clearance of all the aspirants was contained in a report submitted to the party by the chairman of the Committee on Saturday to the Directorate of Organisation of the party.

The Nation gathered in screening the aspirants, the committee considered their eligibility, suitability, character assessment and support verification among others as prescribed by the Electoral Act and the guidelines for tbe election.

After over seven hours of interaction and scrutiny of documents submitted by the aspirants, the committee declared all 16 aspirants meet the basic requirements to contest the election.

Those cleared include Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa; former National Vice Chairman (South West) Isaac Kekemeke;  Olusoji Adewale Ehinlanwo, a former member of the House of Assembly; Hon. Olugbenga Omogbemi Edema and business magnate, Senator Jimoh Ibrahim.

Others are: Engr. (Mrs.) Funmilayo Waheed-Adekojo; Hon. Akinfolarin Mayo Samuel; former Commissioner for Finance, Hon. Adewale Olumuyiwa Akinterinwa; legal luminary, Chief Olusola Alexander Oke, SAN; Ohunyeye Olamide Felix and Barr. Morayo Lebi.

Also cleared for the shadow election were Garvey Oladiran Iyanjan; Prof. Francis Adebayo Faduyile and Engr. (Mrs) Judith Folakemi Omogoroye, President Unilag Alumni (Worldwide), Engr. Ifeoluwa Olusola Oyedele and Hon. Omo’Oba Okunjimi Odimayo John.

The Nation learnt that the clearing of the aspirants to participate in the shadow election was aimed at ensuring a level playing field to promote democratic ideals and enhance the electoral process.

It was further gathered the committee stated that all aspirants demonstrated willingness to support any aspirant that emerges as the party’s standard bearer for the November 2024 gubernatorial election in Ondo State.

It then urged the party leadership to ensure that the desire and commitment of the aspirants are followed by the party hierarchy both at the National and State levels to avoid any future anti-party activity.

The committee further urged the party to ensure the April 20 primary elections are free, fair and credible with no room for imposition of candidate.

Credit: thenationonlineng.net

author avatar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here