Home Politics Ondo Guber: All Set For 627 Delegates To Elect Ondo PDP Flagbearer

Ondo Guber: All Set For 627 Delegates To Elect Ondo PDP Flagbearer


The Ondo Chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party will conduct its governorship primary on Thursday  ahead of the November 16 gubernatorial election in the state.

The party has seven governorship aspirants who will be jostling for the votes of the 627 delegates to pick the governorship ticket.

The aspirants are a former deputy governor in the state, Agboola Ajayi, a former Secretary General of the pan-Yoruba socio-political association, Chief Olusola Ebiseni, a former member of the House of Representatives, Kolade Akinjo, a former Commissioner for Information, John Mafo,  Adeolu Akinwumi,  Bamidele Akingboye and Bosun Arebuwa.

Ahead of today’s primary, the Ondo PDP Publicity Secretary, Mr Kennedy Peretei, explained in a statement on Wednesday, that the poll would be conducted by a seven-man committee headed by the Bayelsa State Deputy Governor, Mr Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo.

The statement read, “The Ondo State Peoples Democratic Party governorship primary election, scheduled for Thursday, 25th April 2024, will be conducted by a seven-man Primary Election Committee, headed by Bayelsa State Deputy Governor, His Excellency, Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo.

“Seven aspirants were cleared by the Senator Sam Egwu Screening Committee to participate in the primary election.

“The International Culture and Events Centre (The Dome), Akure is the venue for the exercise.

“A total of 627 delegates from the 18 Local Government Areas of the State are expected to elect the standard bearer of the party for the November 16, 2024 Governorship election.

“Accreditation of delegates will commence at 10 am. All those who are not delegates or have no business at the venue are advised to keep a reasonable distance from the arena.”

Credit: punchng.com

author avatar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here