Home Special Report How Camillus Ukah Got Re-Elected As ANA President

How Camillus Ukah Got Re-Elected As ANA President


The Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), the apex body of writers in the country has re-elected Camillus Ukah as president for the second term, for year 2021-2023, after the Annual Business Meeting of the Association held on the 6th of November, 2021 at the Mamman Vatsa Writers Village in Abuja.

According to a statement jointly signed by the duo of ANA PRO North, Yogiza Umar Jr. and ANA PRO South, Isaiah Ebhodaghe said ANA on Saturday returned Camillus Chimah Ukah for another two years term as its National President.

Camillus Ukah, Farida Muhammed, Maik Ortserga, Freeman Okosun, Chimankpa Ogbueri, Mathew Taiwo, Umar Yogiza Jr, Bentex Torlafia and Odono Mathew all retained their positions as President, Vice President, General Secretary, Financial Secretary, Auditor, PRO North, Legal Adviser and Ex-Officio 1 respectively of the association.

However, the positions of National Treasurer, PRO South and ex-officio were contested. But the result of the election produced Isaiah Ebhodaghe as National PRO South, Lois Otse Adams  as National Treasurer, Wole Adedoyin and Greg Mbarjiorgu as ex-officio members.

Ukah who emerged through consensus arrangement was returned with majority of his 15 members’ EXCO unopposed.

While Addressing ANA Members and the newly elected NEC members after the conduct of the election, Prof. Idris Amali, Chairman of the election Planning Committee urged them not to be distracted by the antics of some miscreants who tried to scuttled the convention, noting that the consensus arrangement showed ANA was very united.

Speaking after the election which was done through an affirmative vote, Camillus Ukah thanked ANA members, Board of Trustees, Advisory Council and ANA Elders for the role they played towards ensuring peace and unity in the association. He also assured that his leadership would provide a level playing field for all members to participate actively for the general good of the association.

The election which was conducted by a committee led by Prof. Idris Amali as Chairman, Mr. Miesoinum Minima JP as Secretary and Prof. May Nwoye as Member.

Packaged by Alice Egbedele

author avatar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here