LGSC Boss Assures Workers Of A Blissful Year

LGSC Boss Assures Workers Of A Blissful Year

Oyo State Government
Oyo State Government

The Chairman of Oyo State Local Government Service Commission/Local Government Staff Pension Board,  Honourable Olu Akintola has given the staff of the Local Government Service Commission, Local Government Staff Pension Board, as well as the entire workers of the 33 LGAs and 35 LCDAs in Oyo State, an assurance that the new year would usher in peace, prosperity and progress for them all.

He added that all they needed to do was to “have an unshakable faith in God to make the new year a blissful one indeed for them”.

The Commission’s boss gave this assurance at the conference room of the agency, while gracing the 2019 New Year Thanksgiving/Retirement Party, organized by the Nigeria Union of Local Government Employees (NULGE), Oyo State Local Government Service Commission/Local Government Staff Pension Board Branch, held at the Water Corporation Building, Agodi Secretariat, Ibadan, Oyo State.

While appreciating God for the grace to witness the new year in sound health, Hon. Akintola admonished the staff to cooperate with the Permanent Secretary and other management staff of the commission/pension board,  which he said would ensure a hitch free administration. He further assured the workers that all of them are very important and deserve award of meritorious service,  in view of their dedication to duty,  with or without adequate resources. He, however, donated a substantial sum of money to the Union as his personal contribution to the staff as New Year gifts.

In his special address on the occasion, the Permanent Secretary of the Commission, Pastor Adewole Jimoh, defined the meaning of Thanksgiving as being appreciative of God’s grace and further gave  the various reasons for thanking God, which included for His glory, might, mercy,  grace, love, provision and everyday care. He further harped on the need for the workers to be up and doing and be disciplined, punctual and dedicated to their duties, so as to justify the confidence reposed in them by the present administration, under the able leadership of the state’s Governor Abiola Ajimobi.

Earlier in his welcome address, the Union’s Chairman, Comrade Ayobami Adeogun informed the gathering that the programme was organized to appreciate God for the three retired staff, as well as some members of staff of the Commission/Pension Board who distinguished themselves in their career in the out gone year, 2018.

The three retired staff who were appreciated were Mr. Raji Baba Ibarapa, Mrs Jegede Iya Ijesa and  Mrs. Saudat Adewale.

Among the staff who excelled at the Commission  as the most friendly staff of the year, most punctual staff and most efficient staff of the year 2018, were Mr. Akeem Olatunji, the Commission’s director of administration and general services; Mrs. Fisayo Ojerinde, Confidential Secretary to the Chairman and Comrade Adeola Oduola, the Director of Education and Social Services of the Commission, respectively, while those who excelled at the  Pension Board,  Dr (Mrs) Dele  Busari, Miss Oladayo Lasisi,  Alhaja Okanlawon Fausat,  Nike Oyaremi,  among others.

Responding on behalf of the awardees, the State NULGE President, Comrade Bayo Titilola-Sodo, who equally received the 2018 Most Reliable Leadership award, appreciated the organizers of the programme for recognizing and rewarding hardwork.

He, however, appealed to those who could not get any award now that it does not mean that their efforts were not appreciated. Rather,  their own time would surely come, noting that the staff of the two agencies of government had never been found wanting while discharging their official duties.

Highlights of the programme included special prayers of appreciation to God led by Pastor Bankole Johnson and Comrade Azeez Ademola in  Christian and Islamic ways respectively.

The colorful event was graced by Full Time Commissioner,  Alhaji Mutiu Ayankojo, the Commission’s  Director of Finance,  Mrs Latifat Oyeranmi and other principal officers of the Commission and Pension Board.

Packaged by Oyedapo Oyewole