How The 5th Speaker Of Ekiti Children’s Parliament Emerged

How The 5th Speaker Of Ekiti Children’s Parliament Emerged

The fifth Children's Parliament in Ekiti session...
The fifth Children's Parliament in Ekiti State...participants...

The fifth Children’s Parliament in Ekiti State during the week elected its new Officers at the Ekiti State House of Assembly Chamber.

The delegates for the fifth Children’s Parliament were drawn from all the Sixteen (16) Local Government Areas of the State making a total of 60 in all.

Declaring the event opened, the Honourable Commissioner for Women Affairs and Social Development in the state, Chief (Mrs) Moji Fafure said the provisions for the Children’s Parliament election was borne out of the Child’s Right Act 2001 which was domesticated as Ekiti State Child Right’s Law 2006. She stated that the Law prescribed the establishment of the Children’s Parliament to enable the Children contribute to issues affecting their lives.

Proceeding to the election proper, the Electoral Committee was constituted and headed by Mrs. Abayomi Ojo as the Chairman and Mr. Aladegbola Gbenga as the Secretary. Other members of the Electoral Committee included Mr. Ogunniyi Tolu; Mr. Fasuyi James and Mrs. Bejide Toyin. The method adopted for the election was open ballot system.

First in the categories of the elections conducted was the election of the representative of Ekiti State to the Federal level. Those nominated for the election included Hon. Oke Olaloye who scored 1 vote; Hon. Akindele Olayinka Mercy scored 18 votes; Hon. Damilola Afuye with 2 votes; Badeji Precious with 5 votes; Michael Emmanuel (3 votes) and Dominion Samuel (8 votes).

At the end of the first election, Hon. Akindele Olayinka (female) and Hon. Badeji Precious (male) were eventually declared winners.

For the categories of the second election, Hon. Adebanji Michael was elected the Speaker; Hon. Samuel Dominion Samuel as the Deputy Speaker; Hon. Akindele Olayinka as the Leader of the House; Hon. Akinwale Convenant as the Deputy Leader of the House; Hon. Babalola Josiah as the Clerk; Hon. Sowemimo Feyi Toluwa as the Deputy Clerk; Hon. Arolasuyi Folakemi as the Chief Whip; Hon. Adeniyi Bobola as the Deputy Chief Whip; Hon. Ifeanacho Anthonia Opeyemi as the Mace Bearer and Hon. Jimoh Daramola as the Deputy Mace Bearer.

Meanwhile, during the first official sitting of the 5th Children’s Parliament held at the hallowed chamber of the Ekiti State House of Assembly complex on Tuesday, it was resolved and passed by the Parliament that His Excellency, Dr. John Kayode Fayemi is requested as a matter of urgency to put all necessary machineries in motion towards addressing the challenges that the Ekiti Children are facing on drug abuse.

He was also asked to proffer solutions to the negative effects of drug abuse by giving it widest awareness and publicity it deserves across the nooks and crannies of Ekiti State and that, NAFDAC and other agencies should be on their toes to arrest any person/persons, groups or companies found capable of selling of sub-standards and expired drugs in the State.

Packaged by Emmanuel Adeniran