When Tinubu, Soyinka, Opadokun, Others Were Honoured By Coalition

    ...Prof Wole Soyinka...
    ...Prof Wole Soyinka...

    A coalition of civil society groups in Lagos State on Thursday honoured President Bola Tinubu, Prof. Wole Soyinka, former General Secretary of the National Democratic Coalition (NADECO), Chief Ayo Opadokun, and NADECO chieftain, Olawale Oshun, for their contributions towards the struggle for the enthronement of democracy in Nigeria.

    The event, organised by the Nigerian Human Rights Community (NHRC), was attended by over 800 people and was chaired by Director-General of the Development Agenda for Western Nigeria (DAWN), Dr Seye Oyeleye.

    The group also gave awards to some private organisations, including Pipeline Infrastructure Nigeria Ltd, and Emirate Logistics Nigeria Ltd, for their role in peace-building, conflict prevention and community empowerment.

    Chief Opadokun received his award in person, while a writer, Madam Lola Shoneyin, represented Prof Soyinka. Oshun’s award was accepted on his behalf by Babatunde Ogala (SAN).

    President Tinubu was honoured for his courage in ushering in transformation in such a difficult time.

    The organisers said though Nigeria still faces difficult challenges, ‘Tinubu’s striking intervention in certain areas in the past year cannot be denied’.

    Special Adviser to the President, Tunde Rahman, who represented him at the event, commended all the recipients, describing them as ‘patriots who played a leading role in the enthronement of democracy in Nigeria’

    He said: “These are people like Prof. Soyinka, Chief Ayo Opadokun and the rest. They truly deserve the award and I congratulate them. I must particularly congratulate Mr. President who ranks highly in the category of patriots who fought for our democracy.

    “As a senator in 1993 after the annulment of the June 12, 1993 presidential election, he led a team of lawmakers who did the unthinkable by demanding an end to military rule.

    Credit: punchng.com

    author avatar


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here