Sirawoo Tasks SWAN Platform Committee

Sirawoo Tasks SWAN Platform Committee


President of Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN), Honour Sirawoo has tasked newly inaugurated SWAN Platform Committee to come up with issues and generate ideas that will deepen the relevance of the association in national sports development.

He has also tasked the committee to use the Platform to work in synergy with sports administrators, promoters and operators in the discharge of the association’s responsibility as watchdog of the sports industry.

Speaking at the inauguration of the committee at the Yankari Games Reserve, Bauchi State, venue of SWAN Full Council meeting, the President urged members led by its Chairman, Tunde Orebiyi to market the association and generate money for its activities.

Sirawoo also charged them to bring the association closer to stakeholders at the grassroots, urging them to use the Platform to further build on the achievements of SWAN.

“The terms of reference of the SWAN National Platform include generating interview and news for our members, the platform should bring us closer to stakeholders at the grassroots level, the SWAN Platform should create ways to generate revenues for the association.

“There should be a marketing committee in the platform to market the association, we want to use what we have to generate revenue for the association,” Sirawoo added.

Speaking in his acceptance speech, Chairman of the Platform, Orebiyi lauded SWAN for deeming the members fit to serve the association.

Orebiyi, who was represented by Vice Chairman, Sina Abimbola, promised on behalf of other members to do everything possible to make SWAN proud.

“Its daunting task that you are giving us today but we want to assure you that we will not be intimidated. It is a challenging work you are giving us but we will not disappoint this association.

“We will do our best to make you people proud. We appreciate being appointed to serve in this SWAN National Platform, we will not let you down,” he stressed.

The Platform members include Chairman, Tunde Orebiyi; Vice Chairman, Sina Abimbola; Abdulrahman Ibn Mohammed, Jide Alabi, Toyin Ibitoye, Nobert Okoli, while AbdulRaheem Aodu will serve as secretary.

Packaged by Lanre Olabisi