The ‘Politics’ Behind How Ajimobi Inaugurated His 55 New LG Caretaker Chairmen

The ‘Politics’ Behind How Ajimobi Inaugurated His 55 New LG Caretaker Chairmen

...Hon Bosun Ajuwon of Ibadan North West, left, with other chairmen...

The Oyo State Governor, Senator Abiola Ajimobi has sworn-in new Caretaker Chairmen for 28 local governments and 27 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs.

The new Caretaker Chairmen took the oath of office at the executive council chamber of the Governor’s office, Secretariat early on Friday morning.

Oyo State has 33 local governments and the newly created 35 LCDAs but five local governments and six LCDAs from Oyo and Oriire local government areas were exempted as a result of an ongoing litigation.

Two nominees namely Mr. Mudasiru Agbaje for Irepo Local Government and Adeleke Taiwo for Asabari LCDA in Saki failed the screening exercise conducted by the State House of Assembly.

The two nominees were rejected over issues bordering on certificates and intellectual capacities to administer a local government.

Also, Mr Akeem Aransi who had earlier been screened by the House of Assembly and found ‘appointable’ as Caretaker Chairman of Lagelu West LCDA was removed hours before the swearing-in ceremony was performed and replaced with Mr Abiodun Oladeji, a former Caretaker Chairman of Lagelu Local Government Area.

Addressing the new Caretaker Chairmen shortly after they were sworn in, Governor Ajimobi urged them to see the appointment as a call to service, adding that leadership required strict adherence to due process without unnecessary sentiment.

The Governor who stated that their appointment was temporary, stressed that it would only last for three months after which the date for the conduct of local government election would then be announced.

Speaking to newsmen, some Caretaker Chairmen promised to replicate the good governance entrenched in the state by Ajimobi in their council areas.

Mr Habeeb Ibrahim and Alhaji Rabiu Lawal of Ibarapa Central local Government and Ibarapa North-West LCDA respectively promised to ensure security of lives and properties.

They promised to ensure adequate diversification of the economy of the state through agriculture, saying that they would harness the council’s agricultural potentials.

Mr Adekunle Oladeji and Olamijuwonlo Alao-Akala of Ààrẹ Latoosa LCDA and Ogbomoso North Local Government respectively promised to be good ambassadors of the governor in their councils.

Alhaji Kareem Adegoke, Saki West Local Government and Mr Abolade Akanni, Iseyin Local Government promised to make good use of the opportunity given them by the governor.

They all pledged their unalloyed loyalty to the Ajimobi-led administration, assuring the people of continuous progress in their respective council areas.

Packaged by Oyedapo Oyewole